Open for (neuro)science tutorials: New from the Allen Cell Types Database

Thanks for attending the webinar or viewing the video of the Open for (neuro)science tutorial: New from the Allen Cell Types Database, with @Luke_E, Stephanie Seeman, and @gouwens! This webinar demonstrated how to use the patch-seq and synaptic physiology datasets.

Please feel free to chime in here with additional questions or follow-up questions to those asked at the live webinar. You can find the recording of this webinar and information about other webinars in this series here .

Question: Is there a link for the jupyter notebook?

Kaitlyn and Nathan: We’ll post a link as a reply to this thread.

Question: I work as a computational modeller. I was curious to know if there was a way by which one could map transcriptomic data, such as (relative) gene expressions to their equivalent (relative) conductance in the cell?

Nathan: That’s a really interesting but complex question. The measured expression of a particular gene in a single cell is fairly noisy, so you’d have to account for that when relating it to other properties. Also, we don’t know the specifics of how transcriptomic levels correspond to levels of, say, an ion channel in the cell membrane. But those are questions we (and others) are very interested in pursuing.

Question: How do you recognize axon? Are you always sure that this is an axon and not the dendrite? Particularly, in inhibitory cells. Was it easy?

Nathan: We have a team that does the morphology reconstructions, and they identify whether the process is an axon or dendrite based on the original 63x image stack. They are fairly distinguishable based on things like diameter, the presence of boutons, etc.

Follow-up question: Thank you! Is axon’s diameter smaller than dendrite’s?

Nathan: Yes, that is correct.

Question: What brain regions does your cell type dataset include?