Could Someone Give me Advice on Gene Expression Data Analysis Using Allen Brain Atlas?

Hello there,

I am working on a project that involves analyzing gene expression data; and I am using the resources available through the Allen Brain Atlas. Specifically; I am focusing on the brains cortical regions and am interested in understanding the expression patterns of a set of genes involved in neuro developmental processes.

While I have some background in bioinformatics; I am new to using the Allen Brain Atlas tools and datasets. I would greatly appreciate any advice or guidance on the following aspects:

What is the best approach to efficiently access and download the gene expression datasets for specific cortical regions? Are there any recommended tools or scripts that can streamline this process? :thinking:

Given the complexity and volume of data, what are some effective strategies for integrating gene expression data from multiple sources within the Allen Brain Atlas? How do you manage and organize the data to ensure consistency and accuracy? :thinking:

I am particularly interested in visualizing gene expression patterns. What are some recommended tools or software for creating visual representations of these data? :thinking: Additionally; any tips on interpreting these visualizations in the context of neurodevelopmental research would be invaluable.

Are there any common challenges or pitfalls that I should be aware of when working with this type of data? :thinking: Any advice on avoiding these issues would be greatly appreciated.

Also, I have gone through this post; https://community.brain-map.org/t/whole-mouse-brain-gene-expression-data-minitab/ which definitely helped me out a lot.

I am excited to learn from the experiences of others in this community and to apply best practices to my research. Any references to tutorials; documentation; or case studies related to the use of the Allen Brain Atlas would also be helpful.