Downloading human age-related gene expression levels and making figures

Hello:

I am new to using the Allen data. I am working on a project involving brain tumors. One type originates in younger patients and overexpresses developmentally related genes and the other type, which occurs in older patients, expresses genes more expressed in adult brain. When I look at the atlas, some of the genes have more than one horizontal bar graph on the same age scale. I am having difficulty interpreting the significance of this and downloading the data. The only thing I can do at this point is copy the color-coded horizontal bars. Can anyone comment on that, i.e., what do the lower bars represent? How do you download the data for a particular gene?

I can always make a simple Excel bar graph showing the differences of age-specific expression of genes of interest between the 2 tumor groups, or simply paste the color-coded bars together. Can anyone suggest something more sophisticated, for a good journal? I would be willing to take on a collaborator, if someone is particularly interested and skilled at making nice figures with this data, i.e., period and anatomic locations of expression.

Thanks,

Norm

Hi Norm,

For our RNA-seq atlases, there should only be a single horizontal bar per gene, unless you are looking at exon level expression (e.g., here); however, our microarray atlases often have multiple probes per gene (e.g., here). In cases with multiple probes per gene, each row represents expression of a different part of the gene, which often are highly correlated, but sometimes are not if the probes are measuring different isoforms of the same gene, or if one probe is “better” (for one of many biological or technical reasons). Finally, if you type in a gene with a rather generic name (e.g., MET, here), you can return a search with many different genes. In this case you’ll want to check the “Show exact matches only” box under the search bar.